CS Licensure Prep with WeTeach_CS

Overview

WeTeach_CS Certification Prep course will develop educator competencies necessary to become certified in Computer Science. This course will prepare teachers to take the Praxis Computer Education (5652) test.

This license addition is one-way to teach Computer Science courses in the state of Indiana, For details about what you can teach with your Indiana license, go here.

Eligibility and Requirements

This workshop is intended for 9-12 teachers; K-8 teachers will be accepted based on availability.

Any Indiana teacher interested in becoming certified to teach Computer Science is eligible to attend. Attendees should have at least some prior experience in coding or programming to maximize their participation in this workshop.  Teachers that are scheduled to teach a CS course in high school in the 2022-23 school year will be prioritized.

Workshop Details

  • Length: 4 required sessions, 3 optional sessions, see dates and times below.
  • Cost to Participate: $0
  • Stipend: $400 for workshop participation + $500 bonus for taking and passing exam.

Workshop Dates

Nextech will be offering two cohorts of the Certification Prep course in the 22-23 school year.

Fall Cohort Dates:

  • Saturday, September 24, 2022, 9 – 3 pm ET
  • Monday, October 10, 2022, 6-7:30pm ET
  • Wednesday, October 12, 2022, 6-7:30pm ET (optional)
  • Saturday, November 12, 2022, 9 – 3 pm ET
  • Tuesday, November 15, 2022, 6-7:30pm ET (optional)
  • Saturday, December 10, 2022, 9 – 3 pm ET
  • Tuesday, December 13, 2022, 6 – 7:30 pm ET (optional)

Spring Cohort Dates:

  • Thursday, February 2, 2023, 9–3 pm ET
  • Thursday, February 23, 2023, 8-9:30am ET
  • Tuesday, February 28, 2023, 6-7:30pm ET (optional)
  • Tuesday, March 7, 2023, 9–3 pm ET (optional)
  • Thursday, March 9, 2023, 6-7:30pm ET
  • Thursday, April 6, 2023, 9-3 PM ET
  • Tuesday, April 11, 2023, 6-7:30pm ET (optional)